County Fairs

County Fairs are over in Michigan for another season.  Ours is the biggest and the last.  It ran from Sept 21-27. 

It is also a 4H fair which means there are lots of animals, vegetables etc. that the kids have done. There is something for everyone.

 

I have been working at it for 24 years mostly in security. And my husband has for 26 years.  We worked it again this year. 

I love seeing all the people that I only see once a year, due to the fact that some are from other states and come back each year. But I put in long hours as I get there at 7:30 am and don’t leave until after 9:00pm most times.

This year my husband and I worked together and were lucky enough to be near our truck.  I say lucky because I was able to have a ‘tailgate sale’.  I set up my pendants, earrings and other polymer clay items on our tailgate.  I also ran a fair week 1/2 off special on my buttons.  It turned out pretty good.  I made a few sales, got a few orders and got paid for being there. haha

I could not have afforded to rent a booth and probably would not have gotten one anyway as most if not all are already spoken for, years ahead of time.

We had beautiful weather, in the mid to upper 70’s all week during the day, upper 50’s at night and not a drop of rain.  Here in lower Michigan at this time of year you never know what kind of weather you will have.  The week after we had upper 50’s and lower 60’s and 2 nights we had frost already. The leaves are turning such beautiful colors.

On top of all that I got to see my oldest son, daughter-in-law, grandsons and granddaughter, that week.  Not as much as I would have liked but that was the only time they were able to come up from Kentucky (granddaughter is from Michigan).  I don’t get to see them often, so any time I get to is nice.

Do any of you go to the County Fair?  When is yours? Now did you spend that week?

I hope everyone had as good of a week as I did.  See ya tomorrow.  I will be talking about Etsy.

 

 

Leave a Reply

