It’s apple canning time in Michigan

I have a neighbor who has 4 apple trees in his yard.  He stopped us the other day while we were driving by and told us he and his family had picked all they wanted and we could have the rest.  So Friday my DH and I went over and picked 2 five gallon buckets full.

Then got busy peeling, coring and slicing.  I have a real easy recipe for apple pie filling to can.  My DH, being the sweetheart he is, worked right along me.  We made 12 quarts and have some for a pie tomorrow.

Sat. I made the pie and did up 12 -1/2 pints of apple jelly and 4-1/2 pints sugar free apple jelly.  I think that is all for the apples for a while.

Haven’t played much with clay this week.  First of the week my SIL had major surgery, which she came through real good. ( came home Sat.)  So we spend all the time we could with her and family. Then there were the flu shots on Weds.  House cleaning on Thurs. etc.etc.

I think I mention about the kayka I was trying to make for my Grandson teacher, well I got that done and it turned out real good.  They (GD,DD and teacher) were all real happy with it anyway.  You can see a picture of it in my flickr album at left.

Leave a Reply

